18+ | Commercial Content | T&Cs apply | Wagering and T&Cs apply | Play Responsibly | Advertising Disclosure

Cheltenham Lady Jockeys

Rachael Blackmore - Most successful with 9 wins.
(c) Healy Racing
The success of Lady jockeys at the Festival broke new ground in 2018 with four victories, each provided by a different rider – with Lizzie Kelly becoming the first professional jockey to triumph, followed by Bridget Andrews, while amateurs Harriet Tucker and Katie Walsh also enjoyed memorable victories.

Lady jockeys kept up the momentum in 2019 with another four winners including the first two at Grade 1 level. All four winners were for professional lady riders including two for Ireland’s Rachael Blackmore and one a piece for Lizzie Kelly and Bryony Frost.

Rachael Blackmore then changed the game in 2021 by winning six races at the Festival including her Champion Hurdle success aboard Honeysuckle and becoming the first Lady jockey to win the coveted Leading Rider Award.

Overall: 16 winning lady jockeys, with 40 wins between them

First: Miss Caroline Beasley - Eliogarty, 1983 Foxhunter Chase.

First professional rider: Lizzie Kelly - Coo Star Sivola, 2018 Ultima Handicap Chase.

Most successful: Rachael Blackmore with 12 wins

Best race: St James's Place Foxhunter Chase - 2020 Miss Maxine O’Sullivan: 2018 Miss Harriet Tucker; 2017 Miss Bryony Frost; 2016 & 2015 Ms Nina Carberry; 2004 Miss Rilly Goschen; 2002 Mrs Fiona Needham; 1995 Miss Polly Curling; 1989 Miss Katie Rimell; 1983 Miss Caroline Beasley.

Andrews, Bridget (1 win)
Randox Health County Handicap Hurdle: 2018 Mohaayed

Andrews, Miss Gina (1 win)
Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Handicap Chase: 2017 Domesday Book

Armytage, Miss Gee (2 wins)
Brown Advisory & Merriebelle Stable Plate Handicap Chase: 1987 Gee-A
Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Handicap Chase: 1987 The Ellier

Beasley, Miss Caroline (1 win)
St James's Place Foxhunter Chase: 1983 Eliogarty

Carberry, Ms Nina (7 wins)
Glenfarclas Cross Country Chase: 2007 Heads Onthe Ground, 2008 & 2009 Garde Champetre, 2016 Josies Orders
Boodles Juvenile Handicap Hurdle (Fred Winter): 2005 Dabiroun<
St James's Place Foxhunter Chase: 2015 & 2016 On The Fringe

Blackmore, Rachael (12 wins)
Close Brothers Nov H'cap Chase: 2019 A Plus Tard
Albert Bartlett Novices' Hurdle: 2019 Minella Indo
Close Brothers Mares´ Hurdle: 2020 Honeysuckle
Champion Hurdle 2021 Honeysuckle
Ballymore Novice Hurdle 2021 Bob Olinger
Champion Bumper 2021 Sir Gerhard
Ryanair Chase 2021 Allaho
Mares’ Novice Hurdle 2021 Telmesomethinggirl
Triumph Hurdle 2021 Quilixios
Champion Hurlde 2021 & 2022 Honeysuckle
Turners Chase 2022 Bob Olinger;
Gold Cup 2022 A Plus Tard

Curling, Miss Polly (1 win)
St James's Place Foxhunter Chase: 1995 Fantus

Frost, Bryony (2 win)
Ryanair Chase: 2019 Frodon
St James's Place Foxhunter Chase: 2017 Pacha Du Polder (when riding as an amateur)

Goschen, Miss Rilly (1 win)
St James's Place Foxhunter Chase: 2004 Earthmover

Kelly, Lizzie (2 win)
Brown Advisory Plate Chase: 2019 Siruh Du Lac
Ultima Handicap Chase: 2018 Coo Star Sivola

Needham, Mrs Fiona (1 win)
St James's Place Foxhunter Chase: 2002 Last Option

O'Neill, Ms Lisa (1 win)
National Hunt Chase: 2017 Tiger Roll

O'Sullivan, Miss Maxine (1 win)
St James's Place Foxhunter Chase: 2020 It Came To Pass

Rimell, Miss Katie (1 win)
St James's Place Foxhunter Chase: 1989 Three Counties

Tucker, Miss Harriet (1 win)
St James's Place Foxhunter Chase: 2018 Pacha Du Polder

Turner, Miss Lucy (1 win)
Kim Muir 2022 Chambard

Walsh, Ms Katie Walsh (3 wins)
National Hunt Chase: 2010 Poker De Sivola
Weatherbys Champion Bumper: 2018 Relegate
Randox Health County Handicap Hurdle: 2010 Thousand Stars